
16: With R2 on second base and one out, a ground ball is hit to the third baseman. The third 
baseman bobbles the ball and throws low to first base. The batter-runner (BR) slides into first as 
the thrown ball from third bounces off the first baseman’s mitt and into the BR’s jersey. When 
the third baseman threw the ball to first, R2 was attempting to advance to third base. When no 
one could find the baseball, R2 advances to home. The defensive team coach is adamant that 
the BR should be out and that R2 be returned to second base. The offensive team coach is 
equally adamant that the play should stand.  

RULING: When the ball became lodged in the offensive player’s jersey, it is immediately dead. 
The batter-runner is awarded first base. Because R2 was attempting to advance at the time the 
ball became lodged, R2 is awarded third base. (8-3-3f; 5-1-1g-4) 

 

17: A pitch that is low and hard gets by the catcher and ends up in the backstop fence that is a 
short distance behind the plate. R2, on second base, sees the ball get by the catcher and 
attempts to advance to third base. The batter-runner attempts to advance to first base as the 
pitch was ball four. As the catcher goes to retrieve the ball, it falls from the fence and the 
catcher picks it up and throws to third in time to retire R2.  

RULING: This is a lodged ball and is immediately dead. R2 is awarded third base one base 
since it was a pitch) and the batter-runner is awarded first base due to the pitch being ball four. 
(8-3-3d, 8-1-1c, 5-1-1g3, 2022 Points of Emphasis) 

18: With runners on second and third and one out, the batter swings at strike three and the pitch 
gets past the catcher. The batter turns and begins to walk to the third base dugout as R3 
attempts to come home. With instructions from the dugout to run, the batter-runner turns around 
and runs to first and in so doing cross the home plate area as the pitcher nears home plate in an 
attempt to put out R3. There is no contact as the batter-runner runs between the pitcher and the 
catcher. However, as the catcher throws the ball to the pitcher covering home, the pitcher is 
distracted and the ball goes to the pitcher’s mound. The defensive team’s head coach demands 
that interference be called.  

RULING: This is not interference. The batter-runner has the right to attempt to advance to first 
base and has done nothing intentional. Even if the batter-runner mistakenly thought about 
advancing, that act itself would still not be considered interference. Score R3 and leave the 
batter-runner at first base. (8-1-1b) 

19: With bases empty and a two-strike count, the batter swings as the pitch hits the dirt and 
bounces off the catcher. The batter-runner comes out of the box running toward first base with 
the bat still in hand. The pitch that bounced off the catcher’s shin guards, hits the bat and rolls to 
the backstop as the batter-runner makes first safely.  

RULING: Since the batter-runner has not yet advanced to the 45-foot running lane, the batter-
runner can only interfere if the batter-runner intentionally interferes on a thrown ball or 
intentionally hinders a fielder. A strike three where a batter becomes a runner, is treated as a 
thrown ball situation. Even if the batter-runner, starting to advance to first base, unintentionally 
kicks the ball or contacts the catcher trying to field the ball, neither case is interference if 
unintentional. (8-1-1b, 8-4-1a)  



20: With runners on first and third there are two outs. The batter hits a fly ball to right field. R3 
immediately comes home, but R1, thinking there is only one out, remains on first base to tag up. 
The first base coach sees R1 still at first base and gives R1 a slight push to get moving. R3 has 
crossed the plate just before the push and the fly ball falls at F9’s feet for a base hit.  

RULING: When a coach physically assists a runner during playing action, the assisted runner is 
called out immediately and the ball remains live and in play. This is a timing play and the run will 
count since R3 touched home prior to the out being declared. The defense did not force R3 out 
so the third out is not considered to be a force out. (8-4-2s, 3-2-2, 9-1-1) 

 

 


