11: The pitcher is wearing — on the non-throwing arm — a black, non-distracting sweatband
which contains pitch and defensive signals that the pitcher wears under a Velcro flap. The
opposing coach insists that the pitcher must remove the sweatband from the non-throwing arm.

RULING: The wearing of this sweatband is legal as it is not distracting to the batter. (1- 4-2, 6-2-
1f)

12: Itis a cold night with a wind that is creating a noticeable wind-chill. The pitcher is wearing a
full-face, cold-weather mask that is of a solid dark color. The opposing team is insistent that this
mask must be removed.

RULING: Provided that this mask creates no distraction to the batter, it is legal and may
continue to be worn. The umpire has sole authority to judge whether or not an item is
distracting. (6-2-1f PENALTY)

13: To communicate defensive and pitch signals, the home team uses posters that have
emblems, colors and icons. The pitcher looks to the dugout, sees the team pointing to various
parts of the posters and gets the sign for the next pitch. The pitcher now legally gets on the
pitching plate, and without looking at the catcher begins the pitching motion.

RULING: This is an illegal pitch. A pitcher is required to take the sign or simulate taking the sign
from the catcher when legally on the pitching plate. (6-1-1)

14: The coach announces a color and a number that tells the pitcher what the next pitch should
be when F1 checks the armband worn on the non-throwing arm. The pitcher next legally gets on
the pitcher’s plate, gets set and looks into the catcher. The pitcher then begins the pitching
motion.

RULING: This is legal. A pitcher is required to take the sign or simulate taking the sign from the
catcher when legally on the pitching plate. (6-1-1)

15: The count is 1-2 when the runner on second base attempts to steal third base. As the batter
looks at an outside pitch, the catcher attempts to throw to third base to put out the runner
stealing. The catcher’s throw hits the batter’s bat and is deflected into a dugout. Even though
the batter had not moved, the defensive coach insists that batter interference be called.

RULING: This is not batter interference. It is a throw that goes into a dead-ball area. Award the
runner from second base home and score the run. The batter remains at bat with a 2-2 count.
(7-3-5).



