
The Batter’s Box belongs 
to the hitter. 

Fact or Fiction? 



There are three ways a batter 

can commit batter’s 

interference. 

1. Backswing Interference 

2. Interfere with a play at the plate 

3. Interfere with a catcher’s throw. 



Baseball:  Rule 7-3-5   
a) A batter shall not interfere with the catcher’s fielding or 

throwing by leaning over home plate. 

c) A batter shall not interfere with the catcher’s fielding or 
throwing by making any other movement, including follow-
through interference, which hinders action at home plate or; 

d) Failing to make a reasonable effort to vacate a congested 
area when there is a throw to home plate and there is time 
for the batter to move away.                                                                      

Softball:  Rule 7-4-4 
The batter is out if she interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing 

by leaning over home plate, by stepping out of the batter’s box, by 

making any movement which hinders action at home after the pitch 

reaches the catcher or the catcher’s attempt to play on a runner, or by 

failing to make a reasonable effort to vacate congested area when 

there is a throw to home and there is time for the batter to move away. 



What is the difference? 

Backswing Interference 
• Prior to pitch 

• Umpire shall call time and reset 

 

Follow-through Interference 
• Bat contacts catcher during swing and interferes with 

catcher’s ability to throw. 

• Batter is out; Runners return 



Follow-through 

Interference 

applies to 

baseball and 

softball. 

Penalty:  When there are two outs, the batter is out.  

When there are not two outs and an attempt to put a 

runner out at any base is unsuccessful, the batter is out 

and all runners must return to bases occupied at the 

time of pitch. 



Interfere with a play at the plate. 

When a runner is attempting to score, the 

batter has to make an effort to get out of the 

way of the play at the plate. 

Most common play 

happens when there is a 

runner on 3rd and then a 

pitch gets by the catcher.  

You have the catcher 

scrambling for the ball, the 

pitcher running in to cover 

the plate and you have the 

runner barreling toward 

home. 

Get in position and watch like a 

hawk! 



BASEBALL:  When there are two outs, the batter is out.  

When there are not two outs and the runner is advancing 

to home plate, if the runner is tagged out, the ball remains 

live and interference is ignored.  Otherwise, the ball is 

dead, and the runner is called out. 

 

If pitch is a 3rd strike, and the batter interferes,  two may be 

ruled out.  In the umpire’s judgment, the batter’s actions 

prevented a double play. 

 

SOFTBALL:  Ball is dead immediately.  Runners must 

return to the last base touched at the time of interference 

by the batter. 



Interference with the catcher’s throw         Most Common 

When a base runner is stealing and the catcher comes up 

quickly with a throw in an attempt to retire the runner, the 

batter cannot in any way impede the catcher’s effort, 

intentionally or unintentionally. 

 

On a steal of 2nd, you don’t often see interference because the 

catcher has a clear line of sight to second base. 

 

Rarely, does the batter’s swing pull him off balance causing 

him to step on or across the plate.  When moving, the batter 

can easily bump or otherwise impede that catcher’s attempt to 

put out the runner. 

THAT IS INTERFERENCE.       Intent does not matter. 





Batter Interference 
(7-4-4) 

• Clarifies that batter is subject to interference if she makes any 

movement that hinders the action at home AFTER the pitch reaches 

the catcher 

• Previous rule did not include this timeframe 

Batter is also out if 

she fails to make a 

reasonable effort to 

vacate congested 

area when a play 

develops and there is 

time for the batter to 

move away. 



When a runner is attempting a steal of 3rd, 

this is when an umpire needs to concentrate 

and watch for batter’s interference. 

The throw to 3rd requires the catcher to throw across the right-handed batter’s 

box.   

 

That’s where a right-handed batter is standing and you can’t expect the batter 

to simply disappear. 

This is where it becomes a little bit 

tricky! 



There is a common misconception that if a 

batter remains in the batter’s box he cannot 

be called for interference. 

This is not true. 

The batter’s box is not a safe haven. 

But, the batter cannot just disappear. 

The play happens so fast that the batter may not even know a 

play is on until the ball whizzes past the batter’s ear. 

What’s an umpire to do? 



Judgment Call 

 

Look for an overt action by the batter. 

 

Sometimes a bad throw is just a bad throw. 

 

But if the catcher’s throw is disrupted in any way, 

regardless of intent, it has to be called. 

 

If the batter remains still, he probably is not 

interfering, but if it were me, I’d duck. 



Here’s where it gets even tougher. 

 

 

The most difficult play to judge is not the straight-up steal. 

 

It’s when the catcher mishandles a pitch or is handling a pitch in 

the dirt. 

 

The ball is on the ground and runners are in motion. 

 

The catcher is diving or grabbing for the ball. 

 

At the same time, the batter is dancing out of the way while trying 

to avoid interfering. 



In trying to avoid interference, the batter 

interferes. 

“But, I was trying to get out of 

the way!” 

 

“What was my player 

supposed to do?  He was 

trying to get out of the way.”  



You are breaking my heart, son.  A 

rule is a rule.  You’re out. 



Know the rule. 

 

Understand the rule. 

 

Apply the rule. 

 

Don’t cop out because you 

are not sure. 


